Foundation for the History of Totalitarianism

History essay prize 2022/23


The 2022-23 essay prize was on the Hungarian Revolution of 1956, which was crushed by the Soviet army. 

1st Jess Harris, Hayesfield Girls’ School, Bath

2nd Sara Hughes, Brighton College

3rd Rebecca Klemke, Impington International College, Cambridge

Highly commended:

Ben Luca Atassi Quinton, Tiffin School, Kingston-upon-Thames

Gabriella Sheppard, Tormead School, Guildford

George Emms, Hills Road Sixth Form College, Cambridge

Ksenia Kuznetsova, Matthew Arnold School, Oxford

Raahan Mehta, Haberdashers’ Boys’ School, Borehamwood

Matthew Rusling, Bishop Vesey’s Grammar School, Birmingham


Robin Elfsberg, Watford Grammar School for Boys

Harris Felton, Watford Grammar School for Boys

Henry Burrows, Magdalen College School, Oxford

Evelyn Davies, Hinchingbrooke School, Huntingdon

Niamh Tarrant, LaSWAP, London

Sophie Browning, Sutton Valence School, Maidstone

Congratulations to all who completed their essays. To have done that is an achievement in itself.

The awards ceremony took place at the Hungarian Embassy in London in the late afternoon of 10th May, 2023. His Excellency Ferenc Kumin presented the prizes.

The essays were anonymised before the judges saw them, so they did not know who wrote the essays or which school they attend. This was to prevent any unconscious bias. The judges included Victor Sebestyen, author of Budapest: Between East and West.

See more prize-winners