Foundation for the History of Totalitarianism

History essay prize 2020/21


The 2020-21 essay prize was on the subject of Witold Pilecki, the man who volunteered to go into Auschwitz concentration camp. 

Witold Pilecki

1st Ben Buffery, Watford Grammar School for Boys.
2nd Oyinkansola Adewale, Presdales School.
3rd Jun Wha Shin, Harrow School.

Highly commended:
Austin Taylor, Tiffin School.
Timothy Daglish, Pate’s Grammar School.
Jess Taylor, Llanidloes Sixth Form.
Evelyn Youle, Midsomer Norton Sixth Form.
Anna Lincoln, Pate’s Grammar School.

Luc Barrier – King’s College, Wimbledon
Ursula Leonard – Altrincham Grammar School
Jack Hitchcock – Derby Moor Academy
Amy Jenkins – Malmesbury
Khanh Linh Tran – Cheltenham Ladies College
Betsy Gooing – Pate’s Grammar School
Amir Sheikh – King’s College, Wimbledon
Eddie Adams – Tonbridge School
Amna Khan – Laureate Academy
Edward Green – Alcester Grammar School

There were 107 entries. Congratulations to all who completed their essays. That is an achievement in itself.

The award ceremony took place at the Polish Embassy in London in the late afternoon of 24th June, 2021.

See more prize-winners