School History Essay Prize 2020-21: Winners Announced
April 27, 2021

The Foundation holds an annual school history essay prize for sixth form students. The 2020-21 essay prize was on the subject of Witold Pilecki, the man who volunteered to go into Auschwitz concentration camp. The deadline was January 24th and the awards ceremony will take place at the Polish Embassy. 

1st Ben Buffery, Watford Grammar School for Boys.
2nd Oyinkansola Adewale, Presdales School.
3rd Jun Wha Shin, Harrow School.

Highly commended:
Austin Taylor, Tiffin School.
Timothy Daglish, Pate’s Grammar School.
Jess Taylor, Llanidloes Sixth Form.
Evelyn Youle, Midsomer Norton Sixth Form.
Anna Lincoln, Pate’s Grammar School.

Luc Barrier – King’s College, Wimbledon
Ursula Leonard – Altrincham Grammar School
Jack Hitchcock – Derby Moor Academy
Amy Jenkins – Malmesbury
Khanh Linh Tran – Cheltenham Ladies College
Betsy Gooing – Pate’s Grammar School
Amir Sheikh – King’s College, Wimbledon
Eddie Adams – Tonbridge School
Amna Khan – Laureate Academy
Edward Green – Alcester Grammar School

There were 107 entries. Congratulations to all who completed their 2,000 word essays. That is an achievement in itself.

The prize-money for the Foundation essay competition is: First – £1,500; Second – £600 and third – £300. This prize money is divided equally between the student and the school. Students whose entries are “highly commended” receive £50 each.

We intend to announce the subject for the 2021-22 essay prize by the end of May so that students currently in year 12 can consider writing essays over the summer holidays. The competition will be open to students who will be in year 12 or 13 at the beginning of the 2021-22 academic year.

Stay updated
By clicking "Send"  I agree to the Foundation for the History of Totalitarianism and its representatives using the information I provide to contact me about the Foundation and its work. For more information see our Privacy Policy