History essay prize 2020/2021 - results

The Foundation holds an annual school history essay prize for sixth form students. The 2020-21 essay prize was on the subject of Witold Pilecki, the man who volunteered to go into Auschwitz concentration camp. The deadline was January 24th and the awards ceremony will take place at the Polish Embassy.

1st Ben Buffery, Watford Grammar School for Boys.
2nd Oyinkansola Adewale, Presdales School.
3rd Jun Wha Shin, Harrow School.

Highly commended:
Austin Taylor, Tiffin School.
Timothy Daglish, Pate’s Grammar School.
Jess Taylor, Llanidloes Sixth Form.
Evelyn Youle, Midsomer Norton Sixth Form.
Anna Lincoln, Pate’s Grammar School.

Luc Barrier – King’s College, Wimbledon
Ursula Leonard – Altrincham Grammar School
Jack Hitchcock – Derby Moor Academy
Amy Jenkins – Malmesbury
Khanh Linh Tran – Cheltenham Ladies College
Betsy Gooing – Pate’s Grammar School
Amir Sheikh – King’s College, Wimbledon
Eddie Adams – Tonbridge School
Amna Khan – Laureate Academy
Edward Green – Alcester Grammar School

There were 107 entries. Congratulations to all who completed their 2,000 word essays. That is an achievement in itself.

The prize-money for the Foundation essay competition is: First – £1,500; Second – £600 and third – £300. This prize money is divided equally between the student and the school. Students whose entries are “highly commended” receive £50 each.

The subject for the 2023-24 essay prize has now been announced. It will be Repression in pre-war Nazi Germany. Please see the full announcement our our home page here.

© Foundation for the History of Totalitarianism | Created by Kanto Systems